Mining Qualifications Authority (MQA) Bursary Programme 2020

As part of the Sector Education Services (SETA), the Mining Qualification Authority is tasked with the management of programmes that seek the development of skills vital to the mining and minerals industry in South Africa. The MQA was initially established as directed in the Mine Health and Safety Act of 1998. One MQA’s essential responsibilities is attracting qualified individuals to come work in the mining sector. An example of such programmes is the Mining Qualification Authority Bursary Programme that they offer annually.

Mining Qualifications Authority Bursary Programme for 2019

The main goal of the MQA is to promote awareness and increase the number students pursuing studies in the mining and minerals industry. The MQA Bursary Programme extends help to its bursars by providing them with the opportunity to pursue these disciplines at recognized Higher Education and Training (HET) institutions. Coverage of the bursary scheme includes:

  • Registration and tuition fees
  • Books and stationery expenses
  • Residence fees
  • Toolkit allowance

Career Options

The bursary programme carries a service contract requiring bursars to provide their services to the South African mining and minerals industry for the same bursary amount,

Requirements or Eligibility

The Mining Qualifications Authority requires interested applicants must have a strong academic standing and a legitimate need for financial assistance to support their education. The bursary award is reviewed annually by a committee and will be based on the bursars’ performance. The benefits will continue until the bursar discontinues schooling or does not pass the committee review (for continuing bursars).

The MQA Bursary Programme 2020 requires applicants to be students pursuing core mining disciplines listed below:

  • Mine Survey
  • Mine Engineering
  • Geology

Only South African citizens are eligible to join the programme. Also, the bursary is offered to applicants who are intending to pursue their studies at a technological university or any South African university

Note that female applicants and people with disabilities will be afforded special consideration by the selection committee.

How to Apply

  • Qualified applicants will need to download the application form
  • Be sure to fill out the form correctly and in block letters
  • Attach the required documents
  • Incomplete applications will be rejected

Download the application form by clicking the link below:

MQA Bursary Programme 2020 Application form

Application forms must be submitted along with the required documents. These may be sent via post or hand-carried to the addresses listed below. Do not email or fax your application.

7 Anerley Road
Block C, Parktown, 2193
Postal address: Private Bag X118
Marshalltown, 2107

Eastern Cape
King Sabatha Dalindyebo
TVET College, R61 Queenstown
RoadCicira Village, Mthatha,
Telephone: 087 095 0497

TVET College, CN Phathudi
Campus Stand No. 2659, Praktiseer
Telephone: 087 095 026

Free State
Goldfields TVET College
14107 Ndaki Road, Tosa Campus, Thabong
Telephone: 087 095 0266

Nkangala TVET College
Mpondozamkomo Campus, 1 Moses Kotane Drive, Ferrobank Telephone: 013 696 8120 / 2121

Northern Cape
Northern Cape Rural TVET College
Kathu Campus, Hans Coetzee Drive, Kathu
Telephone: 053723 0100

North West
Orbit TVET College
Mankwe Campus, Stand 230, Unit 2Mogwase
Telephone: 014 555 8860

Note: Applications sent via email or fax will not be reviewed

Opening and Closing Dates

Applications will be accepted until 31 January 2020

Contact Details

For additional queries about the MQA Bursary Programme 2020 please refer to the contact details of the particular institution listed below:

University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), Nkangala TVET College
Look for Ms Felicitus Lebetha
Telephone: 011 547 2672

University of Limpopo
University of Venda
Sekhukhune TVET College
Vhembe TVET College
Mopani TVET College
Capricorn TVET College

Look for Mr Diiteleni Tshisevhe
Telephone: 011 547 5705

University of the Western Cape
University of Cape Town
Stellenbosch University
University of Fort Hare
Cape Peninsula University of Techonology
Nelson Mandela University
North West University King Dalindyebo TVET College
Buffalo City TVET College

Look for: Mr Tebogo Thankge
Tel: 011 547 2755

University of Pretoria
University of South Africa (UNISA)
Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)

Look for: Ms Moloko Phofa
Tel: 011 547 2668

University of Johannesburg
Vuselela TVET College
Orbit TVET College,
Northern Cape Rural TVET College
Central Johannesburg College

Look for Mr Joshua Chetty
Tel: 011 547 2625

Durban University of Technology
Mangosuthu University of Technology
University of KwaZulu Natal
Majuba TVET College
Gert Sibande TVET College

Look for Mr Vutomi Chauke
Tel: 011 547 2625

Find out more about the Mining Qualifications Authority by visiting their homepage:


Spread the word

No Comments

Leave a Reply